Chemistry Department which started educational and research activities in 1993-1994 is one of the most important departments of Bulent Ecevit University. Secondary education has also been started in 2009-2010 along with formal education. The education language in formal education is both Turkish and English, while in secondary education is entirely Turkish. In formal education, students must attend a one-year English preparatory school before taking the department courses.

The aim of Chemistry Department is to train students as a chemist. For this purpose, students are trained to do research and development in the chemical and related industries. In Chemistry Department, there are five major subdivisions including, Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry. In these divisions, there are 23 department members including, 6 professors, 4 associate professors, 5 assistant professors and 8 research assistants. Besides chemistry education at undergraduate level, Master of Sciences and Doctoral level postgraduate programs have been continuing under the Graduate School of Natural and Applied Sciences. The Student Exchange Programs, ERASMUS and FARABI are available to both undergraduate and postgraduate students in Chemistry Department. Chemistry Department curriculum requires each student to have two summer practices, each for a duration of at least 20 working days and these summer practices are compulsory for graduation.